Turn your child into a maths magician?

Numeracy Stages - Empowering Parents To Understand
We all want to understand how our children are progressing - but do we really understand the language? Here is an explanation of number expectation within our schools.

StayOnTrack is here, with our advice and worksheets, to support you as parents to understand and get the most out of maths for your child.

New Zealand introduced National Standards to make it clearer as to where your children should be against 8 stages of problem solving... but do you understand these standards and what skills your child is 'expected' to have at what age?

Here are the 8 stages of problem solving development and a brief explanation which StayOnTracks wisdoms will break down and explain in other articles.

First year at school

  • Stage 0: Emergent - First concepts of number and counting.
  • Stage 1: One to one counting - Counting to 10 but unable to solve problems.
  • Stage 2: Count from one on materials - Using objects to solve basic adding and subtracting problems.

  • After two years at school

  • Stage 3: Count from one my imaging - Able to solve simple problems in their mind
  • Stage 4: Advanced counting - Greater number understanding and problem solving such as skip counting sequences. 2,4,6,8...

  • After 3 years at school

  • Stage 5: Early additive part - whole - Recognises numbers as abstracts for problem solving.

  • By the end of Year 4

  • Numeracy Strategy Stage 5: Early additive part-whole- Recognises numbers as abstracts for problem solving

    By the end of year 5

  • Stage 6: Advanced additive part - whole -Knowledge of greater strategies for problem solving.< /li>
    By the end of year 7

  • Stage 7: Advanced multiplicative - Understands the manipulation of numbers to solve multiplication and division problems.

  • By the end of year 8

  • Stage 8: Advanced proportional - Understands proportions and fractions.
  • With the idea of the stages above it is possible to talk to your teacher and using the standards see where your child is doing well and can improve. StayOnTracks worksheets target all of these stages so will assist in strengthening knowledge and ability.

    National standards were introduced with the aim of producing plain English reporting so you can see what you child is achieving and where they are at as compared to expectations for their age. Regular assessment/testing by your classroom teacher generates the information used to produce these results.

    What are the levels written in our children's reports, alongside the 8 stages and what do they mean:

    Above: Achievement a year or more above the expected national average for age.
    At: Achievement at or around the expected national average for age.
    Below: Achievement is about a year below the expected national average for age.
    Well below: Achievement is greater than 1 year below expected national average for age.

    StayOnTrack Limited 2014